Scholars who are interested to visit Institute have several possibilities for scholarships:

  • The University of Warsaw offers scholarships for Visiting Professors. Every year, 10 foreign professors may be awarded a scholarship under a Scholarship Contest. Scholarships are awarded for the duration of stay at the University of Warsaw, between 1 and 5 months in the total amount of 30 000 PLN gross for foreign visiting professors. Under the awarded scholarship, the visiting professor shall be employed by the Institution’s organization unit which issued an opinion on his/her scholarship application.For more information, please contact:
    Anna Adamczyk
    Office for Doctoral Studies and Post-graduate Education
    Pałac Kazimierzowski, room 30
    tel. (22) 55-24-036
    fax (22) 55-24-059
  • Non-EU Professors could use also Extarnal Windows Erasmus Programme. For further information please see website of Office for International Relations:
  • European Professors could visit Centre in the frame of Erasmus Programme
  • Scholars could also apply for some funding to UW (please contact coordinator at the Institute, dr Jakub Zajączkowski)

Study and Research

Institute hosts scholars and professors who focus in research on IR, International Political Economy, Security and other topics related to international studies. Institute hosts also young scholars and PhD candidate. All scholars who are interested to start cooperation with Institute or would like to make research visit are asked to contact with dr Jakub Zajączkowski.

Guest Lectures and Scholars in recent years

The Institute of International Relations hosts prominent scholars and young academics teaching and doing research in the field of international affairs.

Recently Institute was visited by the following visitors:

  • Prof. Barry Buzan (London School of Economics)
  • Prof. Siegfried O. Wolf (South Asia Institute, University of Heidelberg)
  • Prof. Ashwani Sharma (University of Delhi)
  • Mr Muhammad Awan (University of Karachi)
  • Prof. Nameeta Mathur (Saginaw Valley State University)
  • Mr. Saurabh Kumar Shahi (The Sunday Indian)
  • Prof. François Godement (Sciences Po,European Council on Foreign Relations, non resident Senior associate of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Washington)
  • Prof. Hans Winkler (Director of Diplomatic Academy in Vienna)
  • Prof. Subrata K. Mitra (South Asia Institute, University of Heidelberg)
  • Prof. Knud Erik Jorgensen (Aarhus University)
  • Prof. Rajendra K. Jain (Centre for European Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University)
  • Prof. Manish Thapa (Tribhuvan University, Global College International)
  • Prof. Jivanta Schottli (South Asia Institute, University of Heidelberg)
  • Prof. Thierry de Montbrial (Director General of the French Institute of International Relations)
  • Prof. Andrew Hurrell (Oxford University)
  • Prof. B.B. Bhattacharya (Indian Institute of Management- Lucknow)
  • Prof. To- hai Liou (National Chengchi University)
  • Prof. Dorodjatun Kuntjoro-Jakti (University Of Indonesia)
  • Prof. Mark Rozell (George Mason University)
  • Prof. T.V. Paul (Director of McGill University – Université de Montreal Centre)
  • Scott A. Harris (President of Lockheed Martin Global Inc. for Continental Europe)
  • Prof. Zhang Liua (Tsinghua University, Beijing)
  • Prof. Shantanu Chakrabarti (University of Calcutta)
  • Dr. hab. Pedro Manuel Rodriguez Suarez (Benemérita  Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, México)
  • Prof. Edmond Hajrizi (University for Business and technology, Pristhina).

The Institute of International Relations is keen to establish and consolidate relationships with scholars from Europe and overseas.